I’m Trying

I loved the Strokes when I was thirteen because they were a band of exceedingly handsome men. And their music was pleasant enough to listen to.

I suppose being thirteen does not lend itself to listening intently to anything.

I listened to this song today, for the first time in a long time. And realized this song is not really posing a question at all. It is an update on a certaing state of apathy and listlessness that I finally seem to understand.

Between adult-like posturing and grad-school pondering. These endless amounts of depressing reading for a college degree that is without a certain degree of consequence.

I finally understand this complaint that accompanies my early-20s. Not much has truly changed in the last 10 years. I need to revisit this band of handsome men. That much remains the same.

Leave a Reply

